Running on the cheap

Running can be pretty expensive. If you run a serious amount, it seems you go through shoes fairly quickly, meaning multiple new pairs a year, and of course running clothes start to get a bit grotty and stinky. Devices to record runs don’t come cheap either (unless you want to lug your phone around). Then there’s races – they cost a fortune.

After running five half marathons last year, plus a few 10ks, then noticing how much debt we’re in, this year has to involve a lot of cutting back. I pushed my last pair of shoes to 2000km, way more than the recommended amount, and they had serious holes everywhere – but still got me around.

Running Heroes is a pretty epic help though when it comes to finding things for free – things you can earn by logging your runs with them. I’m certainly not getting anything from them for posting this – in fact I’m writing as I’m totally gutted at missing out on a free place at the Reading Half due to my laptop somehow not signing me into the site. But through them I got free entry to the Winchester Half, and this week to the Bath Half in March. When half marathon entry fees seem to be north of £40 this is massive – still allows me to run a few races here and there and see new places.

Having run the Reading Half last year though, and as it passes by my workplace at the university, I was desperate to gain free entry this year, adding to my sense of disappointment. However, there are more important things in life, and I’ve had a pretty good run of free entries of late…

Leave a Reply

